Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cheyjohn

Paw Paws in containers?

cheyjohn
20 years ago

Are there any types of Paw Paw that can be planted in a container? I am new to this type of gardening, and recently found out that I can grow a fig tree this way (yay!). I would love a Paw Paw, but it would have to be in a container. Thanks!

Cheryl

Comments (14)

• chills71
    20 years ago

PawPaws have taproots which I would think would prevent container growing (unless your container was Very Very deep)

I've read that pawpaws put down a taproot 6-10" before they even break the surface to develop leaves (which I find hard to believe, but who knows...)

~Chills

• swvirginiadave
    20 years ago

Paw Paw seedlings can indeed put down roots that long before they put anything above ground. I've grown seedlings in pots for 2 years, but have never tried to grow them in a really large pot. I don't think the taproot would be the problem, they really don't have to have a big taproot. However, there are no dwarf pawpaws to my knowledge. They usually get to be six feet or more before they start flowering. Also you'd need two for pollination. It might be fun to try if you're patient and have some big pots.

• cheyjohn
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks so much for the help! What I am concerned about is the fall/winter care of these trees. I have heard that they need to be "buried" during the cold months. That is why I thought of trying them in a container. Are there any varieties that you can just leave in the ground with no special care during the winter?

Cheryl

• ashok_ncal
    20 years ago

Cheryl,

I have read that pawpaws are hardy down to -25 degrees/USDA Zone 5. I've never heard of anybody "burying" them during the winter to protect them from the cold. (Maybe folks do that in the far, far north.) So if you're able to put plants in the ground I think you should just do so, and drop the idea of planting them in containers.