Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jackern

What's up with gardeners?

jackern
14 years ago

I'm a newbie urban gardener and I'd like to get a feel for who else keeps gardens nowadays and why. Any comments would be immensly appreciated!

Why did you start a garden (for food, a hobby, aesthetic appeal, etc.)?

How old are you?

Where do you live and what type of environment do you live in(urban, suburban, rural, etc.)?

How long have you been growing fruits, veggies, herbs or flowers?

What is your favorite thing about gardening?

I want to discuss this on my blog, www.diysamurai.wordpress.com. Check it out!

Comments (11)

• booberry85
    14 years ago

Why did you start a garden (for food, a hobby, aesthetic appeal, etc.)? My Mom & Dad always had a garden when I was growing up. One of my grandfather's gardened too.

How old are you?Old Enough...Enough Said!

Where do you live and what type of environment do you live in(urban, suburban, rural, etc.)? I'm in a suburban to rural area. My nearest neighbor is about 300 feet from my house. Two side of my house are surrounded by farmers fields and an abandoned apple orchard. The nearest shop is a1 1/2 miles away. It just opened a year ago. Before that the nearest shop was 6 miles away.

How long have you been growing fruits, veggies, herbs or flowers? It's been 7 or 8 years now.

What is your favorite thing about gardening? I still get a rush picking that first bean, first squash, first tomato, first winter squash!

• chadsjewel
    14 years ago

I basically started for a hobby. Our property had been very neglected and I wished to spruce it up as well as kill some time lol.

How old are you? I am 32

Where do you live and what type of environment do you live in(urban, suburban, rural, etc.)?
    I live in a rural area in the Sierra foothills, Ca. but I am in a subdivision with 1/4 to 1/2 acre plots. HOT HOT Dry summers and coldish winters, we are right below snow line.

I have been gardening about 6 or 7 years