Return to the Edible Landscape Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
kiwi or grape up a pergola

Posted by mingwei1 z6MA (My Page) on
Thu, May 25, 06 at 22:24

Hello, we just had a pergola built, and this is my first time with vines besides climbing roses and clematis. Also first time with pergola. Any advice on kiwi (I'd like fruit, I think) or edible grape? It sounds like grapes attract bees, which is a downside for sure, also need spraying? definitely another downside. What about kiwis? do those have the same problem? Are they easy to train up the pergola posts with no trellis?

thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: kiwi or grape up a pergola

Kiwi can't support the weight of their own vines. You'll need to help them up the pergola. I would think 2nd year growth would get to the top. The vines, once on the pergola, will support the weight below it.

You'll need a male and female for fruit. LOTS of vines with two! I have a 24 x 8 arbor on one side of my yard that is 70 percent covered (7 foot off of the ground) by 3 plants that are about 6 years old. The long hot and dry season here, coupled with my restrictions on the root system) have kept it from exploding with growth.

I have to water daily from now until late September. Just a warning--they expire a lot of water. Don't plant somewhere that you'll need to keep dry all of the time.

The fruit is yummy. The wife won't say anything but we both would say its not cost efficient at this point. We lost a third of our male last summer (very hot, very dry, and an extended Indian Summer clear into December). Our third year of fruit set resulted in about 3 cups of fruit surviving. This year's spring was so bizarre I have very little fruit set. Probably okay, since I need to get more vining growth for shade.

Fun? You bet! Good fruit? Yes. Loads of work? Un-huh.

o