Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phasv2

Dallas/Fort Worth Area Perennial Edibles

phasv2
11 years ago

Hello All!

I'm kind of new to this whole edible landscape thing, and I was wondering if anyone in the North Fort Worth area had experience with the whole planting food concept. I have a brown turkey fig planted recently, and I am thinking about planting a plum tree on the edge of my Red oak shade, but I was wondering about possible shrubs and self-seeders to put in my yard.

Also, I am wondering if anyone has any experience with the honey mesquite? According to the research I've done so far it is a native to the area, and I have interest in the edible pods that it is supposed to have in large quantities.

Comments (3)

• Brad Edwards
    11 years ago

I know blueberries and many varities of grape, especially muscadines, do well in our area. If you have room a lot of people have pecan tress. I also think peaches grow well here even some apples can be grown but I wouldn't totally recommend them. Thornless blackberry and rasberry also grow well in our native soil, just some food for thought :)

• phasv2
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Ocean Dweller! I would LOVE to plant pecan, but, unfortunately, I have a fairly small yard, and I already have large Red Oak, a fair sized Cypress, and a starter Fig, so any more trees I plant will have to be small to medium sized. I am pretty interested in planting grapes of some kind, and I do enjoy muscadine jelly, so that sounds like a great option!
    I was under the impression that the soil around Fort Worth was to base for the acid loving blueberries and blackberries...Maybe I just need to do a soil test to find out exactly what my I can plant around here. :-)

Thanks for the help!

• Brad Edwards
    11 years ago

phasv2, You should definitely do a soil test, Auburn and A&M have very good facilities should you decide to use one. They will even tell you what to use to fix problems if they find them.