Return to the Edible Landscape Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Edible Landscape Design- Input Wanted!

Posted by JaimeeG Urbana, IL zone 5b (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 17, 12 at 9:24

I'm new to this, but it's always been a dream. I would love to walk around my property and pick things to eat. I would like my kids to run around outside and get snacks. And I would like to grow enough produce for my family to eat from early spring to late fall. We just purchased a new house in a development, but it has a fairly large yard. I finally convinced my husband to sacrifice most of the grass to the project- yay! I've mapped it out and put in my ideas so far. I would LOVE feedback about design, placement, types of plants, anything! Really I'm open to all ideas.

Here is a link that might be useful: Larger View of Landscape Design

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Edible Landscape Design- Input Wanted!

Check this link out....see what path the sun travels in your yard, you can even search by date to find what path during winter and such. Then plant accordingly.

Here is a link that might be useful: suncalc.net

o

• Posted by corrine1 7b Pacific Northwest (My Page) on
    Fri, Jul 27, 12 at 12:56

What a great plan --

some simple suggestions:
Do track the shade from the trees. Trees grow and over time they will provide more shade. We live in a clearing in the woods, so after 19 years of gardening along our driveway in the clearing we have a lot less full sun areas.

strawberries can be groundcover under a row of blueberries

a vegetable garden around an existing tree can be trouble as the tree steals moisture & nutrients from the vegetables as well as spreads roots in the veg bed -- raised soil over tree roots spells trouble for the tree

o