Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tired_of_digging

Native foods from all over the world.

tired_of_digging
19 years ago

I have been gardening for three years already. Recently, I have started to explore the possibility of edible ornamental plants, which are expected to occupy a more dominant feature in my garden. A WWW search has mostly revealed many websites which mention native foods without details on a satisfactory level. (sort-of by-the-way footnotes). I guess many would like to find such websites, so I am contributing one name to the list, hoping it will grow bigger.

Here is a good website on Australian native food:

http://www.teachers.ash.org.au/bushtucker/

Comments (3)

• drasaid
    19 years ago

One must remember, bush tucker was what was eaten because there was nothing else to eat!
    I am fond of the Plants for a Future site; those guys actually eat the stuff and rate it. Edible does not mean tasty, unfortunatly.
    I have some Periskia cacti. Is that a cacti whose fruit is eaten in Israel? I know you all eat a lot of Opuntia; I got some thornless Opuntia and I find it's not ever going to develop into nice flat round shapes because my BullTerriers are eating it (so, all the pads have suspicious nips.)

• sheilaliehs
    19 years ago