Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juju22244

How to harvest sunflower seeds?

juju222
19 years ago

This is my first time growing sunflowers and they are Titans (really HUGE). I just noticed this morning that there are some seeds on the ground near the plants (they weren't there yesterday). This must be a sign that it is time to do something, but I am not sure what! LOL

Am I supposed to cut off the heads and let them ripen? Do I leave the heads on (some are really straining under the weight), cover them with cheesecloth and let them ripen, or are they already ripe?? They don't really look like seeds to me on the head itself?????

I wanted to use some for replanting next year, some for eating and some for birdfood.

????

Comments (20)

• juju222
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Well, I can answer part of my question...I found some good info by putting "harvesting sunflowers" into google.

But now I have cut one head off and can't for the life of me visualize how to hang it up???? Has anyone done this? I thought the seeds were ready, but they don't rub out.

• larry_gene
    19 years ago

Seems awfully early to harvest sunflower seeds. Sometimes the birds will let you know when it is time by removing seeds. The seeds in the center of the flower take weeks longer to ripen than the ones on the perimeter.

• jkw7aj
    19 years ago

I saw a show about growing sunflowers where the owner secured net bags over the heads of his sunflowers to keep the birds from getting the seeds. I'll bet those bags would collect the seeds nicely as well, especially if they ripen unequally. Paper bags would probably work too, as long as it didn't rain (and as long as your sunflower heads aren't too big to fit). I'd recommend bagging them, then when they appear to be ripe all the way to the center of the flower, just cut the stem below the bag, turn the whole thing upside down, and shake.

• jkw7aj
    19 years ago