Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sdinenno

Jujube for patio tree?

sdinenno
14 years ago

I'm a landscape designer and I'm thinking about incorporating a Chinese Jujube (Zizyphus jujuba) into a design as a tree to shade a patio and a deck. My question: Is the jujube a nice-looking tree? I want to plant something that has nice ornamental appeal and will bear edible fruit (yes, I know there will be some falling fruit).

Comments (7)

• picea
    14 years ago

I just planted my first Jujube last year so I can't comment on how they look but they do produce lots of suckers. Other plants to consider would be a pawpaw and asian persimmon. Edible Landscaping has lots of Kaki persimmon listed with their growth rate and form.

David

• sdinenno
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, David.

But I think both the pawpaw and the kaki persimmon would be too small in this case. I need something that reaches about 30'. Pawpaws are also known to produce a lot of suckers.

• picea
    14 years ago

American Persimmon will get that large. Edible landscaping claims the selection Ruby is attractive. David

• willyt
    14 years ago