Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fabaceae_native

Best houseplant with edible use? Your favorites

fabaceae_native
9 years ago

The title could also be: "edible plant most tolerant of houseplant type culture?"
I used to grow everything from curry leaf to citrus to passion fruit in my sunroom, but have slowly tossed everything edible because of either insect pests (mostly scale) or poor production (many things never fruited at all). Now i am stuck with your typical boring house plants... Only thing that provides fruit this way is garambullo cactus.
Anyone have any other winners for indoors (and outdoors in summer) culture?

Comments (3)

• Lodewijkp
    9 years ago

Gynostemma pentaphyllum is VERY reliable indoors, it is grown in shade or light shade ( it does NOT like sunlight ) and is a very vigorious grower once it is established. i have a few years of experience growing this one indoors and it never dissapointed, it is also really easy to propagate because every stem that touches the ground roots. if you cannot get a plant from the indoor gardening section use a cutting ( or use a rootpiece ) a give it a good wash and root it with rooting hormone. i took a cutting from a plant growing outside and gave it a good wash, it rooted and i had it in a different room untill i was sure it wouldn't carry pests and moved it to the main room after a while.

Kumquat are reliable and portulaca species have edible leaves -P. grandiflora is reliable indoors - others often attract pests ( portulaca oleracea is a pest magnet ). Aloe vera is pretty reliable. Alot of people are having succes with lemon grass but you have to grow them out of seeds - you cannot use plants from the outdoor garden centre section because they usually carry pests.... they must be grown out of seed or bought from the indoor section.

the problem is that most fruits and herbs need ALOT of sun. i usually grow medicinal herbs like aloe, kanna, lemon grass and that kind of stuff.