Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stefoodie

Are these flowers edible?

stefoodie
18 years ago

Hi, I've got some foodie-event cooking planned this weekend and the requirement is that we use edible flowers (along with a couple other ingredients). I've got a bunch of flowers that are still in bloom (a lot are done already) -- but I'm not sure if all of these are edible -- help, please?

I've got

- chrysanthemum segetum

- alcea rosea

- petunia

- bachelor's buttons

- scarlet runner bean

- snapdragon

- showy evening primrose

- echinacea

- pansies

I guess my main questions are:

are these edible,

*have you actually eaten them* -- and not gotten sick LOL,

and do you have any favorite recipes?

I also have marigolds and a few nastys left and will default to using those if any of the above are not edible.

Comments (5)

• oldherb
    18 years ago

I have some experience with some of your plants listed and a great resource in my library that I think everyone should have...Cornacopia II.

Here's what I found and what I know.

Chrysanthemum segetum...young shoots are eaten as a salad green (they are probably a bit bitter as are other chyranthemum greens).

Alcea rosea...the flowers are edible. You can cook the buds...sautee in a bit of butter w/ salt & pepper. Fresh petals can go in salads. The leaves are also edible and used in mid-eastern/Egyptian cooking. You can brew a tea from the flowers as well.

Petunia x hybrida or the common garden petunia is edible. The flowers are mild tasting and you can use them as a garnish on salads and other stuff (source: Cornicopia II)

Scarlett Runner bean flowers are edible and quite yummy. I toss them in salads...they look great in a cucumber salad with a creamy dressing. I also toss them on baked potatoes as garnish.

Antirrhinum majus or the snap dragon is edible though the flavor is not great...remember, edible does not always equal palletable.

All Pansies are edible