Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dogcatlady

edible screen

Ann
16 years ago

Hello,

I need a screen to block my neighbor's driveway---about 50' or so. It's a part sun/part shade location. I was settled on serviceberry, until I saw ediblelandscaping.com, and now I'm completely overwhelmed. I need something that'll do well without a lot of trouble (I don't want anything I'd have to spray.) I'd prefer something pretty---I saw suggestions for hedges like blueberries in other postings which don't sound attractive to me. I guess I'd prefer small trees/large shrubs. Does anyone have personal experience with any of the array of plants that are available?

Thanks in advance,

Ann

Comments (5)

• farmwife
    16 years ago

Blueberries! A good friend told me to plant them and she was so right.

I am not an expert and am just getting started with them myself, but I have watched them now for a year and a half and find the wonderful!

Each season they are beautiful! Especially in the fall. Here in California (I am near the coast) my blueberries turn such lovely colors.

They've been easy to divide and apparently are easy to propagate from cuttings as well (haven't tried that yet, but learned this on a gardening show.)

I just started to get berries this past summer. I've learned since that I should have taken off the flowers so that the fruit didn't set, then I would have encouraged stronger plants and better fruit next year.

But anyway, from this beginner gardener, I'd recommend blueberries. Good luck! Kate

• silent1pa
    16 years ago

I have a 8 foot tall screen of blueberries at maybe 45 feet long. They're quite old now and no matter how many people I invite over I still can't quite harvest even half of them. I stop after the first five gallons or so. They do smell awesome when in bloom. They do however grow out from the base at an angle so they are often less than a complete screen down low. I am considering lowbush beneath my highbush.

• mauch1
    16 years ago