Return to the Edible Landscape Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wanted Professional Edible Landscape Designer

Posted by ellenplants South Florida (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 21, 10 at 13:25

We are in the process of renovating a large waterfront property and want to create an edible landscape. We have not had much luck finding experienced assistance for this project. Any suggestions/referrals would be great. We plan on having fruit trees, a raised bed area and using various edible materials in a more formal garden manner.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wanted Professional Edible Landscape Designer

Hi,
I'm very surprised you have not received any replies to your post. I am not a professional gardener but have been gardening for twenty or so years here in the Palm Beaches. Large, waterfront edible garden...yumm! If you are oceanside that will limit some plants as not all edibles are salt tolerant. I can see grape arbors, strawberries as groundcover, blueberry bushes, majestic mangoes, lychees, sapodilla, sugar apples, even specially developed apple, peach and other traditionally "northern trees, gnarly figs and oh, so many citrus to choose from... a semi/or formal herb garden, even a mini meadow and of course lots of flowering and seed producing plants for the local wildlife. Take your time, go with your heart, look through lot's of member pictures, websites, magazines and maybe a few trips to the various south Florida places like Fairchilds', the Mounts Botanical and other gardens (don't forget Gene Joyner's place) for ideas. Sorry to be waxing lyrical but I am a gardener at heart. Good luck with your venture.
A.H.

o
RE: Wanted Professional Edible Landscape Designer

South Florida is the easiest plast for edible landscape. There is so much to choose from there. Wish I was there I do edible landscape here in Citrus County.

o
Erica Klopf: Professional Edible Landscape Designer