Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
miscindy_gw

any bad combinations?

miscindy
15 years ago

I guess you would call what I'm planning for the spring edible landscaping. I plan to start beds around my deck that include non-edible perennials and annuals as well as some "garden" plants such as pole beans, strawberries, peppers . . . I'm thinking I'll just buy a plant or 2 of the edibles and just mix them in with the flowers and bushes. Is there any combination of plants that would be a bad idea? For example, are there any plants that would somehow ruin or poison an edible? (That sounds silly, but I'm a newbie!) I'd like to do zucchini or cucumbers, but those will probably take over the whole bed, taking out the other plants won't they? I appreciate your suggestions!

Cindy

Comments (6)

• cabrita
    15 years ago

I do this a lot. Some might argue that too much, but there are many good combinations and i like this companion planting because it lets me grow more crops in a small garden.

Bad combinations:

Any bean with any allium (garlic, chives or onions). They stunt each other's growth. I have done this accidentally and seen it happen.

Do not plant tomatoes and corn together (supposedly they attract the same pests? - I have not done it)

From my own experience, keep the tomatoes away from the roses (I got rust from a rose jumping into one of my tomato plants and it is now history - the rose was fine...)

Fennel should be kept away from just about anything else.

Rue should also be kept away from everything else.

From recent experience; keep tomatillos together (they need other plants to pollinate) but do not plant other things with them, they tend to smother other plants.

Zuchs and cukes can be planted with other things. They do well with nasturtiums, but I have melons (cuke family) growing well with okra in a bed that also has roses. Also, I have planted cukes with corn, they do great together, the cukes act as living mulch and the corn shades them.