Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northernflwr

WANTED: Sending/receiving seeds/bulbs from other countries?

northernflwr
15 years ago

I'm completely new to gardening. I like the idea of exchanging seeds and bulbs and was wondering if there are restrictions on trading seeds/bulbs with people from the US or other countries. I remember being at the airport in Amsterdam and they were selling huge bags of bulbs and though I wanted to get some I figured it wasn't allowed. Anyone know? Thanks.

Comments (9)

• ceara_qc
    15 years ago

Most of the time you can successfully ship or receive packages from another country as long as there is a phytosanitary certificate which has been signed off as OK to ship. They just want to make sure there are no diseases or stowaway bugs in the plant material. Just ask the vendors from the other countries about their requirements for shipping internationally.

Sometimes seeds are sent around the world without the certificate and seem to make it just fine. But for bulbs and such, a certificate is probably necessary in order to keep the plant material from being seized by customs officers.

• origami_master
    15 years ago

A photosanitary certificate (PS certs.) are a must when sending seed/bulbs from country to country. I've had seeds from Malaysia sent to me before without a certificate but with an agricultural customs forms (from Malaysia) filled out and it got here fine. Do keep in mind that one seed is enough to ruin a whole ecosystem. Generally, tropical seeds/plants do not pose as big a risk as plants from similar temperate zones. The water hyacinth 'crisis' in the southern states, the loostrife here are some examples of what happens when plants adapt TOO well and take over.