Return to the Canadian Garden Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
WANTED: Brugmansia seeds

Posted by morag01 5 (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 28, 07 at 12:19

I have some Datura coming along this summer, the buds are huge, but not open yet, and would like to try Brugmansia next year. I don't have anything to trade, but would be happy to purchase Brug. seeds from someone.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: WANTED: Brugmansia seeds

I have some seeds that I purchased but have not opened yet. I have two colors. I have these two varieties:
Angels trumpet -double golden queen (yellow)
Angels trumpet -La Fleur Lilac
Let me know if you are interested. There is someone I saw with a huge bush/tree with orange flowers, I am going to try my hand at rooting a cutting. Wish me luck! I have never done that before!!

o
contact info

Please update your member page with email address, and possibly a trade list, what you have, what you want.

Where are you located?

o

rottweilergirl,

I would love to get couple seeds of your Angels trumpet -double golden queen as well as some other seeds from your seed list; what are you looking for in terms of trade?

Thanks in advance, Seham

o

• Posted by signet z6 S.W. Ont (My Page) on
    Sat, Jul 7, 07 at 23:15

Hi Lori/Rotteweilergirl.

Signet here . Judging by the names of your seeds, I would say you have datura seeds not brugmansia seeds. Often they are sold as the same thing but are not .

Easy way to tell them apart......Datura (Common names include jimson weed, Hell's Bells, Devil's weed, Devil's cucumber, thorn-apple ...from the spiny fruit, pricklyburr , and somewhat paradoxically, both angel's trumpet and devil's trumpet (from their large trumpet-shaped flowers) the flowers face upward. Check out this link........ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datura

Brugmansia or Angel's trumpet ...the flowers face straight out or downwards. Check out this link........ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brugmansia