Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jame76

Evergreen screen for zone 3b/4a

jame76
18 years ago

I am fairly new to a zone 3b/4a and I've noticed that it is very difficult to get information on conifers and evergreens that grow in this region. I have a neighbor with an unsightly house and yard and I would like to create some privacy without building a fence. The area is moist, neutral PH level, and full sun. It seems that everywhere I look I can only find zone 5 and up and zone 4 and below is extremely limited. Can anyone with personal experience in zone 3 or 4 suggest an evergreen screen that I can plant that is fast growing and that can grow in this cold region?

Comments (9)

• Crazy_Gardener
    18 years ago

Hi jame76

We have a row of Picea pungens 'Glauca', Colorado Blue Spruce, althou they are very tall, take years to mature and you'll need alot of space.

But there are some dwarf types nowadays.

In zone 4, you should be able to grow a hedge of Cedars, (Thuja). I'd check out your local nurseries, walk around the neighborhood and see what they have growing?

• marilenav1
    18 years ago

I live in about the same hardiness zone as you jame76 since Canadian Zone 5 is really a USDA Zone 4 and I would grow Thuja as Sharon suggested. They are going to love your moist soil as they require water to grow well. They are going to take about 4 years to really fill in unless you purchase cultivated ones which will cost you a small fortune depending on how many trees you'll need.

• ginkgonut
    18 years ago

I would add the cultivar 'Techny' to the Thuja occidentalis list. Where I work there is a nice row of about 20 that many customers see and want the same thing. Some Thujas discolor in the winter, but this 'Techny' screen stays a nice green.

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    18 years ago