Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hmacdona1

Growing Melons in Zone 3a (is it even possible)

hmacdona1
15 years ago

This is probably a silly question, but has anyone been able to grow melons of any sort in Calgary, or a similar zone? (without needing a greenhouse)

I've always stayed away from growing them because I assumed they'd need a longer season, but I'm starting to get the itch :)

If anyone's had any success, I'd love to hear what varities work for you.

Thanks in advance.....Heather

P.S. Can they be grown in large container?

Comments (6)

• sprayman
    15 years ago

I have been growing watermelons for the last 8 years. Went from outside to the Greenhouse because i would only get about a softball size melon. But 3 years ago I had the use of the neighbors garden. Had a wet Spring (which they don't like ) & hot hot summer. Ended up with about a doz. 5 to 7 lb melons (like the minis you buy in the store). Had to give them lots of water, some nitrogen fertilizer (vining)& bone meal(fruiting)
    Types I've grown are Tiger baby, Early harvest, Early canada, Graybelle & Sugar baby. These are small icebox type except the Graybelle.

So if you think you are going to have a hot summer than give it a shot. Start indoors 4 weeks early, plant in mounds,treat like transplanting cucs. & cover for the first couple weeks after transplanting ( tomato cage plastic bag ) wait till vines start to die before picking.
    These types are seeded( lots of seeds) but they taste so good especially because you grew them your self.

Wish you luck...Bruce

• celtic_07
    15 years ago