Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pattyclements

Planting wedding flowers

pattyclements
17 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to gardenweb and of course am here because I will be planting flowers for my daughters wedding and this seemed the best place to post my message as you are all up north as I am. So, I have many perennials in my garden for which I do not even know the names, I love flowers and have a beautiful vegetable garden each year but, have never spent much time figuring out what grows best here. So, My daughter has asked if we would be able to grow and have in bloom the following flowers and to look for suggestions on these and maybe other flowers that would work better or any other suggestions you may have. So, her picks are Orchids,Lilys,Lily of the valley,tulips,snapdragons, and bleeding hearts.. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (9)

• northspruce
    17 years ago

Hi Patty, welcome to the Far North forum! What month is your daughter's wedding? You will not have all those flowers in bloom at the same time, but some of them would be pretty easy to manage. If it's a spring wedding, you will be able to have Lilies of the Valley (although I would be careful using them in bouquets as the sap is poisonous) and tulips at the same time, and maybe Bleeding Hearts although they might be later. Snapdragons and Lilies bloom at the same time. Most orchids are fussy and need to be grown indoors, and are expensive too. If she's set on orchids I would try posting on the Orchid forum and they could probably help you find a suitable one.

Also, is the wedding this year? Some of those plants need a year or more to get established and produce reliable blooms, if you don't already have them in your garden.