Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sylvana11_gw

Fruit trees in Edmonton

sylvana11
15 years ago

I don't have any fruit trees and would really like to add some to my yard. I have a very small area but would like a cherry tree and kiwis. I am thinking of Stella or Julliet cherry and Arctic Beauty Kiwi. I don't have first hand experience with either and am just going by descriptions I have read. So my question is what varieties do you have experience with and if anyone is in Edmonton, where is a good nursery to find both cherry trees and kiwi vines?

Thank you! I am new at this.

Comments (3)

• Crazy_Gardener
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Sylvana, welcome to the FN forum.

I have Evans Cherry but too young yet to produce fruit. If you do a search on this forum, there's a couple of threads of the cultivars you mention.

Holes Greenhouse in St. Albert is a candy store for gardeners. Expensive, but healthy and guaranteed.

• don555
    15 years ago

Hi, I'm in Edmonton too, have a big backyard and have lived in this house for 17 years, and have always been interested in fruit growing. I've got two plum trees, a pear, three apples (plus I've grafted on other varieties), grape vines, a row of saskatoons (3 varieties), raspberries (3 kinds). I'm not growing cherries right now, but have grown the varieties, Comet, Evans, and Nanking.

I've had good luck with everything except cherries. My Nanking survived for 10 years or more, but never produced heavily (though enough to eat), until our neighbour's Nanking got infected with something and died, and it spread to our bush, so I took the plant out and added more saskatoons. My Comet never amounted to much, and died after several years. The Evans cherry was most successful, produced heavily for a few years, then had serious dieback so I removed it. I think cherries like it fairly dry, and mine was in the vegetable garden so received quite a bit of water.