Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nutsaboutflowers

Spring 2014 Plans

nutsaboutflowers
10 years ago

If Spring 2014 ever comes, it won't be soon enough.

I'm toying with the idea of digging up more of the lawn to accommodate more vegetables. I just have no idea when this process might start to look odd. I'm not good at "decorating". I need to relocate my roses, although I'm not sure where to put them. I also want to find somebody to build a type of gazebo/leanto/arbor type thing, and maybe a small greenhouse of sorts.

What are your plans for this year? Growing the tried and true, or experimenting with new? Major projects or keeping up with the old?

Comments (13)

• runswithscissors
    10 years ago

My big project this year is incorporating a chicken house into my yard. I want a pretty one that looks sort of like a miniature Mother-in-law house. I'm also adding a rock garden. The west side of two giant spruce trees gets an odd-shaped dry spot every summer. No matter how much water is poured to it, it just never holds green past June. (I have a large swath of river-rock beneath my yard and this is probably where it is closer to the surface.) Last year I killed the grass with roundup in the shape of the "brown" spot and bordered the pattern with big rocks. I brought in a bunch of gravely sand and rototilled it in as best as I could. This year I'm going to continue killing grass that pops up and special order some extra hardy cactus and add some alpine plants too. We'll see how it goes.

• shillanorth Z4 AB
    10 years ago

I am going to extend my hummingbird gardens with more bee balm, foxglove and penstemon, build an arbour for some John Davis roses that have finally begun to climb, plant some crabapple trees and dig out a section of lawn that bakes in the sun, is a pain to water and mow and replace it with some sun loving, low water plants.

• myfrozenlittlepond
    10 years ago