Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northernflwr

fast growing ground cover?

northernflwr
15 years ago

I am a real beginner. I live on top of a bit of a hill...the grass that grows on this slope is really thick and tough and because it's so steep it's a bit of a pain to cut. How would I go about removing it and replacing it with a ground cover do you think...I was thinking some type of wildflower or sweet pea? Cheap and cheerful and I'd have to do all the work myself. Any ideas? Thanks.

Comments (17)

• Crazy_Gardener
    15 years ago

If its a big area? RoundUp is your best option. You will need to give it 2-3 applications to make sure all the grass is completely dead. Wait a couple of weeks thereafter and sow your seed or plant your plugs.

Do you like Clover, low Maintenance, needs little to no watering or mowing.

Sharon

• kathy_h_grower
    15 years ago

I would do as Sharon suggested to get rid of the grass and then I would put in some fast growing ground cover.
    There are quite a few different ones that are nice.
    I have some "Wooly Thyme" that is very nice. It isn't real real fast growing but does have a very nice texture and can be stepped on to a certain degree. Wouldn't take lots of foot traffic, but does some. Also has a very nice smell and cute small pink flowers. This also doesn't need much maintenance or watering. It only grows 2-4 inches in height.
    There is also Creeping Jenny that, for me, grows like a weed.
    You could check out some flower sites and look for "ground cover" and see what you like and get some more ideas. Maybe a mixture of a few different types of ground cover that would be nice together and not be real expensive.
    Hope this helps.
    Kathy

• shazam_z3
    15 years ago

Lily of the Valley (Convallaria majalis). This will take over everything. You must, must, must, must, must contain it with some sort of underground barrier. Nothing will compete with this plant. But it has nice fragrant flowers.