Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oiltown_gw

New Tree Species To Edmonton

oiltown
14 years ago

Hey everyone,

This message is to update those that are unaware of the different types of trees that exist in Edmonton, and to also show the types that can grow here which were originally thought impossible.

I have done my own extensive research and have put together a good portfolio of pictures. I have also kept in contact with the city of Edmonton forestry division to find out what types of new trees they are planting. As a landscaper, I have also tried many new types and I can list the successes I have come across.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/23840945@N05/

This is my photostream.

Trees that I have come across numerous times that do well in the city:

Various Norway Maple, Fall Fiesta and Unity Sugar Maple, Autumn Blaze Maple, Red Maple, Horsechestnut, White Ash, Gingko, Cork Tree, Northern Pin Oak and Red Oak.

I have found many of these trees flourishing in our frigid city and I have pictures of some examples but there are many more.

The trees that the city is currently planting include:

Honeylocust, Callery Pear, London Plane Tree, White Ash, Red Oak, Norway Maple, Armstrong Maple, Autumn Blaze Maple, Spring Snow Crabapple and Hackberry.

I would like to hear personal opinions of this and if anyone has trees to include in this, I would love to hear about them.

Comments (6)

• cowgirl2
    14 years ago

Thanks for the link. I certainly would like to see a photo of the Ginko.

• don555
    14 years ago

I think butternut and black walnut could be added to the list. I think they need the right spot... I have a butternut in the suburbs that is about 15 feet tall and has produced nuts for the past 4 or 5 years, but I know it isn't fully hardy because the trunk gets frost splitting in the winter. And although I don't know of any walnuts in the city, there was a nice one at the George Pegg Historic Garden last time I was there.

A couple of photos of other trees: