Return to the Far North Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Birds

Posted by northspruce z3a MB CDA (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 20, 12 at 12:35

The little weasel and I built some birdhouses this spring and I hung them up today. I know it's early but I've already seen the migratory birds we usually get in April-May and I think we're having an early spring for real.

Who else here does birdhouses? This is my first attempt. I bought "wren" house kits with small holes in hopes of deterring those nasty house sparrows. I have had wrens nest in my mock orange before so hopefully they will use the houses.

Speaking of migrating, we saw Whistling Swans on the Winnipeg River on the weekend. I was pretty excited because I have never seen wild swans before.
Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Birds

• Posted by mytime 3/4 Alaska (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 20, 12 at 13:07

Wild swans are beautiful, aren't they? Thanks for sharing the pic.

o

• Posted by marric Z5a Ontario (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 20, 12 at 13:39

We've been having Sand Hill Cranes here for the past few years. I'd like to get close enough to get a good picture but they strut around the back 30 acres, right in the middle of the plowed field so I can't even sneak up on them. Nice to see them tho. You are so lucky to have the Swans there, they are so beautiful. Marg

o

• Posted by savona z2bBCCanada (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 20, 12 at 14:27

I seen a red-winged black bird at the feeders the last couple days. It really does seem spring like when you hear them singing. Swans stay year around here in a few places where there is open water but we rarely see them flying in the winter.More swans are coming into the area now as they are migrating and we are seeing big flocks of them.A few years ago we were excited about 3 sandhill cranes near our place, now we see big flocks of them. They fly extremely high in the sky and make a sound kind of like a bicycle horn.

o