Return to the Far North Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beginner in need of advice

Posted by jennifer3120 Alberta (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 10, 14 at 13:10

I'm a young 25 year old woman living in an apartment in downtown Edmonton with a south-east facing balcony. I have little to no working knowledge of how to take care of plants, but I am interested in buying some to bring some life to my place. Can anyone recommend something with relatively easy care instructions that would be suited to my climate and apartment?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beginner in need of advice

I don`t know how big your balcony is but I`m thinking going vertical would give you flowers as well as maximize the space you do have. You could us rectangular planters with tall bamboo sticks or ready made trellis(go at least 5 feet). Shop around for a good deal, they can be expensive. Some easy vines from seed would be scarlet runner bean, black eyed susan, sweet pea, climbing nasturtium. Around the base you could plant lobelia, bidens or bacopa. I don`t know if you would get hummingbirds in your location but you could try a planter of fuchsia gartenmeister. These are all easy, no fuss plants. Beginners usually OVERWATER so just remember to touch the soil first before you douse them! Happy gardening!

o

Sounds like a good place to start, thank you!

o