Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shai_g

New gardener need some help!

shai_g
14 years ago

I am trying my hand for the first time gardening I bought some gardening and landscaping books which I thought would help and they probably would if I could figure out what zone I am.

I live just west of Edmonton and I have no idea what zone that is. I would be grateful if someone could help me out!!

Thanks so much for your time!

Comments (10)

• nutsaboutflowers
    14 years ago

I'm not an expert, but if you want some handy tips, I could give you some. Books can only tell you so much.

If you google canadian hardiness zones, you should be able to figure out what zone you're in. I think Edmonton is probably 3, but I haven't looked. If you have a neighbour who gardens, or if you phone a garden centre, they would also tell you.

Are you going to garden organically? If you're not wanting to use chemicals, I can help you out some, and also websites I could give you, and this forum.

Anything specific you're thinking of growing? Flowers, vegetables, both?

• shai_g
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hey thanks! I was also thinking that I was a zone 3 by looking at a map thing. I was wondering really about the trumpet vine and I wanted to know if it grew here because I saw it in a book and fell in love with it!

I am only doing flowers this year I have a black thumb and I am trying this out. My husband on numerous occations has bought me plants for inside and I have killed them all lol. He has given up buying them for me!

So if you have any suggestions about good hardy plants that would be great!

• nutsaboutflowers
    14 years ago

I hate to say it, but depending on the books you have, looking at all the nice pictures and loving the plants, then finding out most of them won't grow in zone 3, is very discouraging. Been there, done that .........

If you have a black thumb: