Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fillagirl_gw

Canna Lillies & Sweet Potato Vine

fillagirl
13 years ago

Hello, I'm not a new poster, just one that hasn't been around for a while, glad to see that the Far North forum is still active!

I am a newbie at gardening, and am trying to start Canna Lillies and Sweet Potato vine. For the Canna lillies, I was thinking of starting them in a regular sized ice cream pail, but worried that it might be too shallow...thoughts on that?

I was thinking of putting 3 bulbs per pail, if it wasn't too crowed. Do you think that would work, then I could transplant later on?

Also, I am trying to grow sweet potato vines, bought some yams at the grocery store and have them sitting in water in a clear plastic container (old peanut butter container) (1/3 of the tuber in water, held up with toothpicks). Will these make decent potato vines for containers? And do you think they'll be ready for the end of May or early June?

Thank you in advance for your advice & expertise.

Comments (5)

• Pudge 2b
    13 years ago

Welcome back :)

The ice cream pails will not be too shallow for the canna's. A couple years ago I started some individually in 1 gallon pots and transplanted later. Just make sure the pails have drainage holes.

I've not tried growing yams for their vines but you seem to have the right idea. When they start to grow, they should grow quickly. Grocery store produce that's probably treated with (whatever) to prolong shelf life may impede the progression.

• northspruce
    13 years ago

I always fondly remember the year I was too broke to buy potting soil so I started my cannas in cardboard boxes full of shredded newspaper. Worked like a charm. ;0)