Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oilpainter_gw

Anyone growing Impatiens from seed

oilpainter
15 years ago

Hi:

I have been growing impatiens from seed for quite a few years now. I buy the bulk 250 seed package from Stokes.

They say the germination rate is 85% and that has held true other years but this year I think close to every seed germinated.

I transplanted them yesterday in the greenhouse and I ended up with 239 plants. I know 3 or 4 got broken off in the house and another 3 or 4 when I was transplanting so I am very pleased and just had to tell someone.

My friends are going to be happy to get my extras because this is far too many for me.

Does anyone else grow Impatiens from seed? How have yours done?

Comments (8)

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    15 years ago

I have been growing them for several years but not on the scale you are! You're right, though - pretty much all of my seeds have germinated each year and i have great results with them. Right now i think i might have a dozen or 18 that have been transplanted already and more that are still in their 4-packs. I've taken cuttings from some, and there are some that will bloom soon.

On the whole, i'm really happy with growing impatiens from seed. Petunias - another matter! :/

• sierra_z2b
    15 years ago

Yes I certainly do grow impatiens from seed. This year I started somewhere around 1500 seeds. I do not know the germination rates or how many are actually growing. lol

I plant up enough blooming bags to cover a fence wall. This year I am doing 2 walls of impatiens. lol. The extras will be planted up in pots. At this point I have 20 blooming bags planted up...3 plants to a hole and 5 in the top.....you do the math. lol.

Marcia, whats up with the petunias? I also started a hundred or so petunias, and now have taken 2 trays of cuttings. Again don't know the germination rates or even how many cuttings. lol. If all these cutting take, I am going to be very petuniaful this year. ;)