Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jillylicious

tree recommendations? I'm a newbie!

jillylicious
15 years ago

Hi folks! This forum is a godsend! I've been perusing for an hour now and guess it's time for me to join to get more info.

I live on an acreage W of High River (35 minutes south of Calgary.) The soil is dry and there's a lot of wind. I am looking for a tall narrow hardy tree, fast growth, drought resistant. Our house faces SE so the area will get a LOT of sun.

What would you recommend? The tree will be along the house in front of the parking pad (which is gravel.) I'm a little unsure about what to plant to reduce the likelihood of damage to the foundation. I don't mind suckers or raking leaves (I have two 35 yr old poplars so that's old news.)

Does anyone have a recommendation? Thanks so much!

Comments (8)

• Pudge 2b
    15 years ago

Maybe a pyramidal Mountain Ash? I planted one three years ago which up and died that same year because we had too much rain. I planted another (its replacement) the next year in a drier area of the yard and it is quite happy. So although some sites will say Mountain Ash needs moist soil, my tree guy told me they prefer dryish. I love this tree and can't wait until mine grows some more.

Another that might work for you is Sutherland Caragana.

• jillylicious
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks!

How close to the house can I plant a mountain ash? For me to center it in my flowerbed it would only be a couple of feet from the house - will that pose a problem later on?

• bdgardener
    15 years ago

Hi, I live just east of Black Diamond. In my yard I have Shubert Chokecherry, which has the beautiful purple leaves. A green ash, a rescue crab, a couple of apples. All are doing very well and don't get any water beside what comes from the rainbarrel. And of course poplars and spruce. I'm trying to get a couple of plums going but they are struggling. Cheryl

• oilpainter
    15 years ago