Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nman_gw

I'm very sad I moved to a colder zone!!!!!

nman
15 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to the Thompson MB area. I'm wondering when my first frost free day is? When do people start planting outside? What

flowering plants do people like to plant in zone 0b? Are we stuck planting annuals? Any information would be useful!!! Who would of thought I would miss zone 3. I think I should move to a zone 5 or 6 they seem to get the nice flowers. lol

I just hope the snow will melt.

Comments (14)

• hmacdona1
    15 years ago

Wow! I didn't even know there was a zone 0b. If it makes you feel any better, we had a snow storm blow into Calgary today. I have a two foot drift in my front yard and it's still snowing. Good thing I decided to put up my flimsy portable greenhouse on the weekend :) LOL.

Once you find out more information on perennials that will grow in your zone...would love to hear about them. Please continue to add to your post here. It might give us all some good ideas.

Thanks....Heather

• explorer_mb
    15 years ago

Hi nman,

I'm Rob from The Pas.
    I have been to Thompson a number of times years ago when I had relatives there. I can't say when your last frost free day would be, someone from there would have to help you with that one, but I do remember that they had more than just annuals there.
    I remember seeing Asiatic lilies and peonies. I think some of the hardiest shrub roses like Hansa would make it.
    I'm sure there are some gardeners up there who would be more than willing to help you out.

I do envy people living in the southern zones too, it isn't fair they get to grow so many more beautiful plants than we do, but at least we really appreciate our short summers more and we do have the great outdoors and unspoiled nature at our doorsteps. (Yup yup yup, gotta keep telling myself that!) Oh, did I just say that outloud? ;-)