Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pricklypoppy

Rose ID, please!

pricklypoppy
11 years ago

We moved into this house couple years ago. In the back yard there is one hardy rose. Last year it was in full bloom from late June to July with 100+ of yellow blossoms. Could any one tell me which rose it is?

Thanks

Comments (14)

• weeper_11
    11 years ago

You'll have to wait for someone more knowledgeable to check in, but my guess would be either Persian yellow rose or Harison's Yellow rose. Both grow quite tall, can be smothered with blooms, and have smallish leaves and gangly growth.

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    11 years ago

Weeper, those two occurred to me just now when i looked at it. I'm no expert either, but have heard them mentioned and seen pictures. Gil had a Harison's, i think. Whatever it is, i love it! My only yellow rose is Topaz Jewel and that has been really iffy.

• Ginny McLean_Petite_Garden
    11 years ago

My first guess too. Harrison's Yellow,aka Yellow Rose of Texas, Persian Yellow, Oragon Trail Rose, Yellow Briar Rose........It is a very common old shrub rose. My neighbour has one that is about 50 years old and still blooms her heart out. :)

Ginny

• bluegoat_gw
    11 years ago

It looks like a double.

Persian Yellow is a Rosa foetida and doesn't have a sweet rose fragrance.

If it has black hips, then it's Hazeldean.

The only other hardy double yellow is Harison's Yellow. I have never grown that one so I cannot suggest characteristics.

Are there any other hardy double yellow roses?

• pricklypoppy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you all!
    The flowers do have a sweet rose fragrance and the blossom is semi- or double (definitely not single). The rose hip is purple (or black) in color.
    I built a new trellis and moved the rose over last Fall. It comes up this spring already, so the transplanting was a success.
    Pictures from last Fall:

• bluegoat_gw
    11 years ago