Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
petunia2_gw

Repotting tomatoes a good idea?

petunia2
12 years ago

I know it's a while before we can plant out things in Edmonton, but...I couldn't resist, and bought some tomato plants. They are in pots made of a heavy sort of matting(much sturdier than peat pots but not solid plastic), and some of the roots are coming through the bottom.

Knowing it is probably 3 or more weeks until I can plant them in their permanent spots, is it a good idea to re-pot the plants in larger containers as an interim step? Their present containers are about 4", and I would keep them indoors under lights until it warms up.

Any advice appreciated!

Comments (8)

• nutsaboutflowers
    12 years ago

Hi petunia2.

I'm no expert but if I were you, I would definitely repot your tomatoes. Sounds like they're root bound already. If you pot them up covering the bottom part of the stem, they'll grow more roots for you. Apparently repotting is a good thing for tomatoes. When I repotted some of my seedlings they seemed to do better than the ones that I haven't gotten to yet.

I see your favourite forum is growing from seed, so I assume you have proper lighting.

BTW How big are the plants and how many do you have? If you like to "take a ride on the wild side" you could start hardening off maybe half of the plants once they've gotten used to being repotted, and plant half of them a week or so before it's recommended in Edmonton, and see if there's any difference in production by the end of the season.

Then you could report your findings to us =:)

• petunia2
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the quick response. I believe I will repot them, and may do as you suggest and try setting them out at different times.