Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marciaz3

Old lilacs, and their suckers

My daughter bought a house and is really happy that there are several lilacs in front of it screening the house from the street. These are old, old bushes that have probably never been pruned and i plan to do that for her after they have bloomed. Any suggestions?

Also, there is a large gap (about four feet) between two of the bushes and we thought we could fill it in using a sucker. Just dig it up and plant it? Should we use more than one? When is the best time to do this?

Thanks! :)

Comments (5)

• nutsaboutflowers
    14 years ago

Hi Marcia

I'm not an expert, but here's my two cents worth. =:)

I'll begin with the row of lilacs on my uncle's farm when I was young. There were at least 20 of them and when there was a breeze you could smell them from " a mile away". They were never ever pruned. They bloomed profusely year after year. They're what made me love lilacs.

I have had lilacs at two of my homes. I've pruned them as I was advised, and have never had mine bloom as beautifully as my uncle's. Not even close. So, be very careful. I would maybe go so far as to seek a professional's help the first time you prune. ( A lot of people might think that's silly, but if you're not willing to experiment, it might be worth it. I wish I had hired someone.) But remember, I'm not an expert.

To fill in the gap, may I suggest a different variety of lilac for contrast?

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    Original Author
    14 years ago

We did think about getting a different lilac, one that is larger and would fill the gap more visibly than a sucker.

As far as the pruning goes, i was just thinking about thinning them out a bit.

There are many of these lilacs around our village and, yes, in the spring, they scent the whole place. :)

• sierra_z2b
    14 years ago