Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scg_

What are these?

Okay, as addicted as I am I am still a newbie. I have a few of these plants coming up and all of them look "so-so" with some of their bottom leaves looking bad and they all have these "balls" near the top.

{{gwi:753374}}

Should I break out the malathion or doctor doom? On one plant I notice a very, very small mottled caterpillar type bug that fell off when I tried to grab it... No other plants around have problems or bugs and it is only this species (what ever it is lol).

Any help is appreciated.

TIA

SCG

Comments (12)

• nutsaboutflowers
    10 years ago

I'm guessing, but it looks like one of your trees has had babies.

You don't need malathion or doctor doom. :)

All you need to do if you don't want it in that spot, is grab it by the bottom and pull it out by the root. Your soil looks moist enough it should come out without a problem.

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Nuts thanks, but I am sure these are from bulbs I planted...I planted so many I can't remember which are which. The little balls at the top are what worry me.....as well I have very, very few deciduous trees on my whole property hehe.

Thanks again,

SCG

• Ginny McLean_Petite_Garden
    10 years ago

Pretty sure what you have there is Lamb's Quarters.....considered a weed by most. They can get quite large and seed easily. Some people use it for salads and such kinda like spinach, but I prefer to pull it. :)

Ginny

• donna_in_sask
    10 years ago

It is lamb's quarters...a weed.

• intotheark
    10 years ago

it definitely looks like a chenopodium variety,
    so it could be lamb's quarters or something similar

we grew a variety called 'strawberry spinach',
    it had nice edible leaves and those "balls" of yours turned into bright red strawberry-like fruit
    made for interesting salads, but i let a few 'fruit' stay on too long,
    and now we still have them coming up in our garden