Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sazzyrose

What is this on my chokecherry trees?

sazzyrose
16 years ago

I have several branches with this on one of my chokecherry trees.

What the heck is it?

I seen it this spring before it leafed out and forgot about it until today.

Shelley

Comments (20)

• luv2gro
    16 years ago

It looks like black gall to me but I'm not an arbor expert. I did see it on several trees at the Devonian Gardens when I was taking my MG. Prune back about 6" before the gall and make sure you sterilize your shears after each cut with alcohol.

Shauna

Here is a link that might be useful: black gall

• Crazy_Gardener
    16 years ago

Shelley its called Black Knot, ugly isn't it.

Hope this website can help you out.

Here is a link that might be useful: Black Knot of Prunus-- What are those black lumps on my trees?

• luv2gro
    16 years ago

Thanks, Sharon. Wrong name, right disease. Black Knot it is. And my link got misplaced somewhere in cyberspace. lol

Shauna

• Crazy_Gardener
    16 years ago

I've heard people call it black gall too, same nasty disease ;)

I must of been typing while you posted your message to Shelley. LOL

• Konrad___far_north
    16 years ago

Hm...., my neighbour has something similar and wanted to know what it is, is it the same thing?
    Konrad

{{gwi:758207}}

• Crazy_Gardener
    16 years ago

Yes it is Konrad. I had a branch on my Maytree last year, I pruned it off and burned it in the firepit, knock on wood, it hasn't come back.

Sharon

• valleyrimgirl
    16 years ago

We have chokecherry trees around the acreage. The large one between the house and the garage has lots of these knots on it. One year I did diligently prune off all the affected branches and it did look great for a little while. Then more branches got it and the next spring you wouldn't know that I had even trimmed it the year before.