Return to the Far North Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My latest projects

Posted by marciaz3 Tropical3/NWOnt (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 8, 12 at 18:39

I've mentioned my ugly Dwarf Alberta Spruce. Since i'm not good at shovel-pruning, i figured the thing to do would be disguise it.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
I had originally planned to put more than one daylily in there, but once i dug this one out (a Stella that was in too shaded a spot to bloom), i realized that one was enough. I was trying to figure out what else to add when it struck me - that's not much of a rock wall, but saponaria just might be able to do some cascading over it! And i happened to have some that were winter sown.

This bed has had no edging and has always been bad for weeds. I added the edging (really like those curved cement blocks) and mulched heavily.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My latest projects

Very successful masking of the spruce, but maybe it's time to DIE SPRUCE, DIE! Or find someone you can impress with tales of your "rare Alberta spruce", and have them take it off your hands...

o

Too much digging, Don! LOL Aren't they supposed to grow to about 3 or 4 feet? This one is only about 2. The top is very nice, though - don't you agree? :>

o

Nice job Marcia! It looks like the lily on the left wants nothing to do with the spruce.

o

Aaahhhhh. The poor thing. I don't think it's ugly at all =:)

o