Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nutsaboutflowers

Garlic Curlicues

nutsaboutflowers
11 years ago

When your garlic forms the curlicues, do you remove them, or do you let them flower?

I've read that removing them helps the plant concentrate it's energy on forming the bulbs, but have you actually seen any difference?

This is my first year growing garlic.

Comments (9)

• kioni
    11 years ago

I'm so glad you're asking, because I want to try garlic this fall and spent the past week reading up on it on the allium forum. Then the thought occurred to me that I should check out this forum to see if anyone's reported having success with garlic, and came across your post last year about buying some to plant. I was going to do a post inquiring about your garlic, but changed my mind, I felt it would come across as a bit "sketchy" of me!

Many growers clip the scape, depending upon variety it may curl more than once, and if growing a lot of garlic some people leave a few, because once the scape straightens out it is supposed to be ready for harvest. If clipped, harvest is supposed to be 2 - 3 weeks later (you'll have to verify on the allium forum, sorry). The scapes are supposed to be good to steam, or pan fry, or use as seasoning, although depending upon how much curl there is the texture can be woody. In a book I am reading "growing great garlic" it says that in one country, garlic is grown just for the scapes to be eaten. The author notes different growers have experimented by weighing the harvest of garlic with cut scapes versus not, and it seems to have increased harvest/bulb size overall, but not huge-normously, more like 15% (my memory isn't so good on that). Seems the occurrence is more important for gauging harvest. Just like with not wanting onions to go to seed to concentrate the energy to producing a larger onion, I think the same is for garlic.

Hope harvest is great, will be standing by to read about it!

Here is a link that might be useful: Scapes