Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moonstarr15

Ornamental Crabapple Leaves Yellowing

moonstarr
9 years ago

Hi, I'm in Calgary and this past week I've noticed that some of the leaves on my ornamental crabapple are yellowing and it's prematurely dropping apples. I thought maybe it just needed more water, so I have deep watered it, but more and more leaves are yellowing. Has anyone had experience with this and know what might be the problem?

I looked online and there is something called Apple Scab? But I'm not sure if that's what I'm seeing. The apples that have dropped don't appear to have any spots on them. If it is, can a fungicide be sprayed to save the tree? Would I need to call an arborist? Or could this be because of the crazy winter we had? I'm pretty new at all this and am still learning!

I'm attaching a few photos.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

This post was edited by moonstarr on Thu, Jul 10, 14 at 19:16

Comments (7)

• don555
    9 years ago

If it was apple scab you would see mis-shapen fruit with big black blotches all over them, same with the leaves. So that isn't your problem. Is it just the one branch or all over the tree? If just the one branch, check the bark on the branch going to the stem. Sometimes a bad pruning cut can get infected with bacterial canker or other diseases and the bark around the branch will die, killing the branch.

• moonstarr
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I just checked the tree and it's not just the same branch. Although it is mostly located on the one branch, it appears it is also happening to a lesser degree in two or three other areas. The premature apple drop appears to be happening to the entire tree. We did have someone prune it last year, but I can't see any issues at any of the cuts. I'm glad it doesn't appear to be apple scab. Maybe it's a weather thing?

• FrozeBudd_z3/4
    9 years ago

Is this possibly a rather old tree, maybe it's just approaching the end of its life span.

• moonstarr