Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweety2002_gw

Harvesting Petunia Seeds

Sweety2002
12 years ago

Hey everyone!! :)

I am new here and from Saskatchewan, Zone 2a. This is my first time flower gardening and I LOVE it. :) I have planted Petunias from greenhouses and stores this year. I like flower gardening so much that I would like to try to start and plant them from scratch in a make-shift greenhouse here in my basement.

My question is when is the best time to harvest the Petunia seed pods?? Thank you very much for your input. :)

I look forward to chatting with all of my fellow Canadian gardeners and learning a lot from all of you!! :)

Comments (15)

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    12 years ago

When the seed pod turns brown, you can crack it open and drop the seeds into a little baggie or envelope. Just remember that if your petunias are hybrids, next year's plants won't come true. I've saved seeds from many, though, and they have come true, even Silver Waves.

• northspruce
    12 years ago

Hi & welcome! I agree with Marcia, they might not be true but they will be tunies. I got a stray white petunia with some trade seeds last year and the thing ended up about 5' around and covered in blooms, so it was definitely a wave or something similar. There is nowhere else it could have come from except with the soapwort or Iceland poppies from trade that I planted there.

If you want to put in a little more effort for the whole winter, you can take cuttings in the fall that way they will be true to form.

• nutsaboutflowers
    12 years ago

Once you've managed to collect your seeds, there's a really good forum here called "Growing from Seed" that would be something you could learn from also. Be sure to read the FAQ before you get started.

It's good winter reading, as well as this one, of course =:)

• nutsaboutflowers
    12 years ago

Oops! After writing my last comment, I realize you may already know how to start plants from seed in your basement.