Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
northspruce

New bed: tilling?

northspruce
14 years ago

I'm new to this, I always used to dig beds with a spade and shake the dirt out of the grass manually, but now I'm too old/lazy and don't have enough time. So today I edged out a big new bed and soaked er with herbicide. I'm waiting anxiously for the grass to die. There was also a lot of Creeping Charlie and Yarrow, I hope it gets killed off too.

So would you dig it over after everything's dead, or just plant straight in? I don't know if I trust the roots to be killed. I would hate to plant stuff and then have grass and yarrow popping back up. Oh also how long do I wait before the pU dnuoR is broken down? (spelled pU dnuoR backwards to prevent the "search and nag" function some environmentalists use)

Comments (13)

• marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario
    14 years ago

I think Sharon has said in the past to wait a couple of weeks. Most of my beds have been lasagned. Not that it has helped me with the weeds - i'm finding that out. But it really makes for a nice soil and easy planting.

• Pudge 2b
    14 years ago

I've done this a few times. I wait until the grass etc is dead (yellow) so that I know I haven't missed anywhere - usually about 10 days. Then I just planted straight in - dug holes where I wanted them and left the rest. Eventually the rest got mulched and you cannot tell that there's dead sod underneath. The sod breaks down after a year or so. I did this for a shrub bed and a couple of areas where I extended the beds. I will never dig sod again. And if at all possible, RUp is my preferred method of weeding, too.

• Crazy_Gardener
    14 years ago

You don't have to dig or till after Gil, this is the beauty of no till/ lagasna gardening. Yup, the sod will break down.

LOL > pU dnuoR, you are a very smart cookie ;)