Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluenosedee

What Are Your Favourite Tomatoes?

BluenoseDee
10 years ago

What are your favourite tomatoes for growing during our short summers? Which varieties have thrived for you?

If you could tell me whether the ones you mention are heirloom or hybrid, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks! :)

As for me, this is my first summer growing Cole tomatoes. I'm in zone 2a. They are a small (1-2 inches across), red, determinate heirloom variety. They have been prolific and are the only tomatoes of the 7 varieties I planted this year that are ripening, at this point!

A description of the Cole tomato can be found here:
http://www.annapolisseeds.com/tomatoes_9.html

Comments (46)

• mctiggs
    10 years ago

Black from Tula is the best producer I've come across, for whatever reason, I've been planting it for 5 years now, after testing other black/dark tomatoes. The only hitch is that the first few fruits on each plant almost always have wicked BER. After that, it's game on. Plus, they're ridiculously tasty.

Emmy also does well, it has a thicker skin and appears to like the cooler temps.

I'm going to have a huge surplus of seeds from my plants, if you want some feel free to email me, you can have some.

• northernmn
    10 years ago

I started my plants from seed indoors and they went in the garden on June 1st. I'm harvesting several varieties now. The 2 that I like the most are (1) Super Steak - a hybrid seed from Burpee's (2) Pink Brandwine open pollinated.

They set a lot of fruit, ripened fairly early considering our late spring, and have very good taste. These were only about 1 week behind my early varieties for ripening. They have way better flavor than the earlies.