Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ostrich0001

New to Calgary!

ostrich
12 years ago

Hello everyone,

I just moved to Calgary from the States a few months ago, and so I am now starting all over with my gardening! I have never done any gardening in zone 3a before, so I would really appreciate your guidance and suggestions!

Anyway, I am just buying a house from a builder right now, and they have put in these shrubs in the front flower bed:

Apart from the evergreens, I am not sure what they put there! The front of the house faces north, and you get only partial sun (at most) by the porch. They tell me that the shrubs by the porch were "buffalo berries" which I am not familiar with at all. This is a photo of it:

Then there is another "mystery shrub", which they tell me is a spiraea but I am not so sure:

What on earth are these please? Also, isn't it weird that they put a tall fountain grass kind of thing so closely in between the two shrubs by the porch???

Anyway, I think that they are really overcrowding this bed, and there is not enough colour contrast there. I am wondering about putting some Annabelle hydrangeas by the porch, but they would look really ugly during winter and that is not good at the front of the house... :-) What are your thoughts? I would really appreciate your advice here! Thanks in advance.

Comments (29)

• nutsaboutflowers
    12 years ago

Hello ostrich. Welcome to Canada. Are you new to gardenweb? Where did you come from and what zone was it?

My initial reaction to your front yard, is that the builder has planted some full sun plants when you face North, which is pretty much shade most of the time.

You'll find there's quite a few people here from Calgary so you'll be able to get lots of good advice.

I personally think hosta would have been a better choice than evergreens and grasses, particularly when the tree in the front will provide even deeper shade when it gets larger.