Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
don555_gw

Let's talk FarNorth plums....

don555
12 years ago

There has been a bunch of threads recently on FarNorth fruits of many persuasions, but I don't recall seeing anything on one of the most reliable of northern fruits -- plums.

So here's some pics of northern plums....

Pembina plum tree, overview:

Closer up of fruit:

Closer yet, Pembina plum...

Close-up of Pembina Plum fruit:

This is an unknown variety of tree plum, which ripens a week or 10 days ahead of Pembina, with smaller fruit but sweet skin and flesh, not quite as hardy as Pembina...

I have ZERO experience growing the bush plums and/or cherry-plum hybrids. Would love to hear other's experiences with these or other plums!

Comments (10)

• northspruce
    12 years ago

I used to have a Pembina, it sometimes produced bumper crops. The flesh was extremely sweet but most people probably wouldn't eat the skin. I also had problems sometimes with those wasps (?) that ruin them.

The tree got to about 40 years old (inherited from Grandpa) and suddenly died. I think it just got old.

• ljpother
    12 years ago

I've got a plum that has bitter skin, sweet inside. Production is variable -- about 8 litres this year, loaded last year. I've never seen it loaded like Don555's. One year it looked like I would but most of the tiny fruits dropped.

• Konrad___far_north
    12 years ago

Nice crop you have Don!
    Think I have one also but when I took the plums to the fruit show they told me it was Supreme. The tree was labeled Pembina. I couldn't tell the difference between the two. Mine looks the same as yours but not as loaded, the skin is bitter. You should take it out to the Devonian Fruit show coming up Sept. 17, 18th. How old is you Pembina tree? Looks fairly old, perhaps around 30 years?
    Can you post a picture from the other tree please, since it's not as hardy it might not be doing good here.

{{gwi:123106}}

• Konrad___far_north
    12 years ago