Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nutsaboutflowers

Harvesting Leeks

nutsaboutflowers
12 years ago

Hi all.

This is my first year growing leeks. I grew 6 from seed for DH just to see if I could do it.

How do I know when they're ready to harvest? Does a little frost help the flavour? Can I let them go to seed to look pretty or will that be too late?

I don't even eat them, so I don't have a clue.

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• Konrad___far_north
    12 years ago

Nothing better then a leek soup my mom used to make.
    The bigger the better,.. cool crop & wet condition veggie, which is fine for our climate if you water in a dry spill but season might bee too short when planted from seed. Put your two thumbs together...about this thick they should be, then you have lot's of tender leek. I don't remember them going into seeds, perhaps they bolted for you,..too dry?
    Light frost should be fine but I don't think they handle our cold winter.

• DrHorticulture_
    12 years ago

I accidentally let a leek overwinter last year. We got above average snow cover though. This spring, I stumbled across it. The outside was rotten but the inner layers were still edible.
    Last year, I think I harvested them in 1st or 2nd week of October...after a few -4 and -5 frosts but before negative double digits arrived.

• shazam_z3
    12 years ago

I grew some a few years ago, I just took them out when they looked big enough.

Made leek and potato soup with them, it was amazing.

• don555
    12 years ago