Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ostrich0001

New lawn question

ostrich
12 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am wondering if you can give me some advice on my new lawn please. The front lawn was sodded in late August, and by now it's well-established. It's looking green and lush. However, it's starting to grow a bit long now (probably about 4 inches in some places?). It does not look bad, but is it necessary that I cut it down now? Or should I just leave it for the season? I am new to this climate and so I want to make sure that I am doing the right thing!

On the other hand, the landscapers only just laid down the sod in my backyard this past Tuesday (4 days ago). I have been watering it almost daily. Should I continue to do so? When should I stop? It's still pretty mild here in Calgary, and it looks like it will continue to do so at least for the next week or so.

I would very much appreciate your advice! Thanks so much.

Comments (11)

• FrozeBudd_z3/4
    12 years ago

Yes, do cut your tall grass down to about 1 1/2 inches, otherwise it'll become all matted down over winter. I don't know about Calgary, though in the Edmonton region snow mold is often a problem.

As for your newly laid lawn, at this time of the year it would not require constant daily watering, every three or four days would be plenty good given our current temperatures.

Terrance

• ostrich
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks, Terrance! I will try to mow the front lawn before the s#$% starts to fall then! :-)

• don555
    12 years ago

I agree with the previous comments. The long grass on your front lawn should be cut and all watering on that lawn should be stopped so it can go dormant for winter.

The back lawn will still need some water to set some deeper roots, but at this time of year there really is minimal evaporation and transpiration, so twice a week, even once a week, should be ample.

• ostrich
    Original Author
    12 years ago