Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alalbertaz2b

Solar lights in the garden

alalbertaz2b
18 years ago

Hi all

I have several of those solar powered lights in my garden and was wondering what everyone does with them in the winter time. Do you leave them out or bring them in? We just bought ours this year and I have no experience with them.

Cheers Al

Comments (24)

• putzer
    18 years ago

Did it say anything on the package about their temperature range outdoors?

I don't have them, but wanted to ask you how satisfied you were with the quality/amount of light that they give off? I have heard that they can be a lot dimmer than others, but am hoping that is not true of them all. Solar really seems like it would be the way to go.

• Pudge 2b
    18 years ago

I bring mine, put them in a dark garbage bag and store them in the basement. I leave the stakes out, though.

We've had a lot of incidents of theft of solar lights, though, and it seems that it is a common occurrence in many areas. I had 2 stolen this year from my yard. I'm not sure what the thieves are using them for - there have been several found, with the solar chips taken out of them.

• cailinriley
    18 years ago

I only have one. I got it as an experiment to see how much light it put out. I have it at the end of the garden, where it looks like a fairy light in the dark. Definitely not as bright as I wanted. That's why I haven't bought more.

I left it in the garden last winter. When the snow was on the solar panel, it didn't light up, of course. It didn't get damaged at all, though. It's in our fenced back yard, so no worries about theft. After having the decorative portion of my water fountain stolen this year, I won't put anything in the front yard that is of any value or that can easily be carried away.

• glen3a
    18 years ago