Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
salemgurl

What Are Some Long Flowering Perennials

salemgurl
19 years ago

Hi, I'm a newbie to this site, gardening and massachusetts!

I need advice from you sophisticated, fun gardeners--

1)What Are Some Long Flowering Perennials for zone 5-salem, ma? and where can I purchase them for a small price or free?

2) I live in a low-income, neighborhood and would like some privacy. Are there any types of privacy fences I can purchase for under $50? (The yard is not very large!)--I thought about trellis, but I don't know how to put it up!

3) What is the best economical price and type of long, decorative grasses I can purchase? and where? on a VERY limited, unemployed person's budget.

Comments (5)

• nadd2
    19 years ago

For any perennials, put the word out to your friends. When they divide their plants, they may give you some of the divisions which won't cost you anything (and I find that divisions of field-grown plants grow better than potted plants anyway). Grasses: miscanthus, calamagrostis (grows very well and fast)are pretty in my garden. Long-bloomers include coreopsis moonbeam or zagreb, salvia east friesland, daylily pennsyworth. Have fun!

• MeMyselfAndI
    19 years ago

Camomile (Anthemis) looks like yellow daisies, Yarrow (Achillea,) Coneflowers (Echinacea,) and Malvas are long-bloomers, especially with regular deadheading. All are fairly heavy seeders if you don't deadhead them. You should be able to grow all of them easily from seeds, although the show this year might be a bit small. Next year it'll be great! All of these prefer lots of sun.

Monarda is a long bloomer. Not much of a re-seeder, but likes to spread out. Also for sun.

If you know someone with a butterfly bush, ask them for a cutting. That's how I got all of mine. They bloom for at least 2 months, longer with deadheading, full sun.