Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peggy1155

Favorite color combinations?

peggy1155
19 years ago

Just wondering what everyones favorite color combinations for flowers are.

I'm fairly new to having a yard and I'm not really sure what color combinations to try. I don't seem to have that natural "this looks right" type of thing going for me. I thought yellow and red but then I've seen a few posts on GW where people feel that combination is over-used.

So what flower/colors do think look great together?

Peggy in Bucks County, PA

Comments (26)

• homersgarden
    19 years ago

I have gotten into a lot more color matching in the last year. This year I planted my containers by colors. I have some on my back patio that are red, purple and yellow. On my front deck I wanted something more "modern" and went with maroon and bright green. I planted them with coleus, potato vines, etc. I have a few containers that are verigated with light pink that I like too. In terms of my actual garden I LOVE a bed that has all blue toned hostas and other blue toned plants. Another bed has dark maroonish plants euphorbium (spelling?), a maroon colored sedum, a maroon leafed dahlia, and chocolate cosmos.

• plant_manager
    19 years ago

I really like the lavenders, purples, and pinks together. I love persian shield and place it to the back as it gets to be about 4' tall. I grow most of my stuff on the porch in containers so I get to "play" with what colors and plants I use every year.

• tracey_nj6
    19 years ago

Purple and orange! This is the only pic I have available:

• maynardmarie
    19 years ago

purple, orange and yellow. think it is just eyepopping:-)

• bfroberts
    19 years ago

Ditto the purple and orange. My best combination is the most simple....Dallas Red lantana (orange and a rusty red) with purple mums. Perfect in late summer.

• shadowlover
    19 years ago

Purple from my hostas and the Hyperium daylilies really surprized me. It's so soothing!

• MeMyselfAndI