Return to the Favorites Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o A Gazing Ball?

Posted by
Cora Lea
(bellsrus@dwx.com) on
Sunday, September 01, 1996 at 01:41

Can someone fill me in? I have been gardening for over 25 years and have never heard of a "gazing ball", yet am seeing it referred to on the 'forum'. I am guessing that they are the mirrored spheres which I have seen in gardens from time to time and wondered why someone would put a big "marble-looking" object (no offense intended, please) in their gardens. What is the purpose for them? Why do most people use them? And, are they of any benefit to the plants - or just intended for the enjoyment of people. Do they attract birds or scare animals? I am guessing from what I read that they are to reflect what is around them, but is it to enhance the garden's appearance alone, or for other reasons? (I need some educating, huh?) Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o RE: A Gazing Ball?

Hi Cora;
I hope you get an answer,i`m with you ,i never heard of the "thing".If it doesn`t need Water,fertilizer,grow weeds or die,there`s times I sure would enjoy one.I`m afraid it might scare the hell out of me,thinking i`d have twice as many Bonsai to take care of. good luck----Don

My grandmother had one in her garden and told me that the idea dates back to victorian times, people would sit in their garden and look at their garden through the reflection of gazing ball, you could see the sky and tops of trees while at the same time seeing a wide angle view of the garden, all by looking in one spot. I believe at the time there were only the "silver" colors as to view naturally. If she was correct in her information, I imagine this was considered pretty high tech stuff back then!