Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kenmartin_co

Clematis

Ken Martin - CO
24 years ago

I am a freelance garden writer. Here's a copy of an article I published this Summer ('99).

CLEMATIS--Versatile, Showy & Easy to Grow

By Kenneth C. martin

I love the Bearded Iris and Old Roses, both of which are mainstays in my garden. Last year, upon buying a brand new home and beginning a major "from-scratch" landscaping effort, I found myself caught up in yet another preoccupation in the world of flowers. The gorgeous and stalwart Clematis, although practically unrivaled for color and hardiness, is frequently overlooked by many gardeners. Yet, by the very nature of its growth habits, this sturdy garden resident can be used as a wonder focal point! Clematis blend beautifully into formal and informal any garden settings. In full bloom, they are often elegant with spectacular single or double flowers which come in all sizes depending on which variety you grow. Clematis bloom profusely and some flowers can measure up to 6 inches or more across. They seem to come in almost all the colors and hues of the rainbow. Many varieties flower lavishly throughout the entire summer. Others bloom only at the end of the summer growing season and into late fall. Still others are "re-bloomers, first flowering in spring or early summer, then again later in the season. So you can readily choose different ones to suit varying requirements.