Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andrea81_gw

Favorite Gardening Magazine

andrea81
17 years ago

Hi there. I am new to gardening and also fairly new here. I want to subscribe to a gardening magazine, but am not sure which one to subscribe to. I thought maybe this would be the most appropriate forum to post it on. I want something informative yet interesting if you know what I mean. Any opinions would be appreciated!

Thank you!

Andrea

Comments (5)

• cranebill
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

andrea81,

I'm surprised no one's responded to your post yet. I learned a lot from gardening magazines for about the first ten years of my gardening life. They're not as useful to me these days, since I've been reading them so long that an article is more likley to give me a sense of deja vu than new information. The only magazine I regularly read is The American Gardener, which is the magazine of the American Horticultural Society. This one's great for its coverage of a wide range of topics and its consistent delivery of articles that are a bit more scientific than those in other magazines while offering very expert practical advice on plant culture and garden design. The photographs are gorgeous, too. I used to see American Gardener at a local Borders Bookstore but haven't seen it there for years. But annual membership to the AHS ($35.00)gets you a subsciption plus other benefits like discounts and an opportunity to select ten varieties of seeds from their annual seed exchange inventory (you don't have to submit your own seeds to get this benefit).